Who deez betches, anyway?

I’m pretty sure that I’m a feminist.  Don’t get me wrong: I love my Y chromosome, I love my peen, and I’ll be a ride or die bitch for my homeboys for life.  But I always picked Chun Li when playing Streetfighter II, my favourite X-man will always be Storm, and to me, there’s nothing more inspiring than a strong, independent (black) woman doing her thing.  Or thang.

As you know, I was raised with a lot of music and my taste clearly reflects this.  Here’s a group of bad-ass women constantly blasting through my earbuds at the moment.  They don’t get that much radio airplay, and with this blog, I’m hoping to do my small part in helping their music get heard.

Solange Knowles – as much as she wants to fight it, it’s pretty impossible to mention her without big sister Beyonce.  And when listening to both ladies sing, it’s clear why Bey was always Destiny’s Favourite Child.  Solange just feels more unpolished. Her voice is almost good, her melodies are almost catchy, and her production is almost crisp.  And I think that’s why I like her.  Her songs are a little bit Motown, a little bit Bowie, and her strength is in her lyrics. They cut pretty deep and as much as I love Beyonce, Solange’s Some Things Never Seem to Fucking Work feels more relatable than anything Mrs. Carter has ever put out.

Get out of my room, Beyonce!

Get out of my room, Beyonce!

Awkwafina – I love her long time!  She’s from New York, has the bravado to call out Jay-Z on some bullshit, and a self described “ratchet ho”.  And when she says, “Awkwafina’s a genius/ and a vagina is fifty times better than a penis” in her song My Vag, it’s a pretty damn clear proclamation of feminism in 2013.  I’m getting to be of a certain age so I can’t always relate to or appreciate her lyrics.  I just think she’s very talented and I’m excited to hear what she puts out as she gets older.

She'll steal your iPad and sell it so that she can buy more live chickens.

She’ll steal your iPad and sell it so that she can buy more live chickens.

Alabama Shakes – lead singer Brittany Howard is phenomenal.  I’m not a talented enough writer to clearly describe how emotive and amazing her voice is.  Just listen to I Ain’t the Same, Hang Loose, or Hold On, clutch your pearls in one hand, fan yourself with the other and faint in the pews because baby, you just saw Jesus.  Can I get an Amen?  Can I get a witness?!?

A whole lotta Shakin' goin' on.

A whole lotta Shakin’ goin’ on.

Janelle Monae – I can not say this clearly enough:  I LOVE THIS GIRL.  LOVE HER!  If I had a daughter I would make her listen to Janelle Monae (hell, my sons too) so that she learns to be an independent thinker, to be uncompromising in her belief system, to be intelligent, fearless, real, and beautiful.  In all honesty, she would sell so many more records if she showed some T & A, and I hope she never succumbs to the pressure of the record industry.  You can tell that her weirdness is authentic because she doesn’t need to wear pink wigs or to wear a fucking block of cheese on her head to prove how different, deep and artistic she is.  She’s just a quirky, down to earth homegirl with a sharp mind, wit, and fashion sense.

"Hey sister, am I good enough for your heaven?  And will your god accept me in my black and white?"

“Hey sister, am I good enough for your heaven? And will your god accept me in my black and white?”

Her song Q.U.E.E.N. is everything to me right now.  As someone who has been vilified for how he lives, and has been asked to change the way he behaves to something more appropriate, and who has been threatened that someone would “chop off [his] faggot balls”, there is an overwhelming sense of pride and empowerment when Janelle Monae finally sings “Even if it makes others feel uncomfortable/ I will love who I am”.

Wow.  That repressed memory came out of nowhere.

Anyway, I love these bitches.  As much as I can also appreciate the Rihannas of the world, I’m equally glad there are women who still see music as an art and a platform to spread a message of strength and beauty in equal parts.

 

 

 

About tjborile

Registered early childhood educator, aspiring children's book author, and apple cider vinegar connoisseur. Loves to meditate, hike, dance, and watch animals in their natural habitat. Lives in Toronto, Canada.
This entry was posted in Love yourself, Music and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment