Dear misery: No one wants your company. Love, everyone.

On more than one occasion, someone has told me that they’re sick and tired of my positivity.  And on more than one occasion, I’ve smiled and politely ignored it because I’ve been raised to believe that you should respond to people with kindness.  I’ve learned to see that responding negatively would only breed more negativity, and that there is not enough darkness in all the world to extinguish the light of one candle.  We all go round and round in the circle game and all that Joni Mitchell crap.

Once in every seven moons, I will struggle with this, and people who are much wiser than me have dished out some very good advice:

  • If someone makes you angry, look at them as young children, and speak to them in kind.  This will help you maintain a positive energy as you deal with each other.
  • Understand that everyone, including yourself, speaks from a place of hurt and wounding.  After that, you can help each other rise above all the hurt.
  • Choose your words and actions carefully and ask yourself if what you’re saying and doing will lead to the desired outcome.  It is known (It is known… it is known…).

it-is-known-moon-is-no-egg-khaleesi-320656

And I get that.  I prescribe to it.  I dig it.  But there are some people out there who just need a big, fat bitchslap across their disgusting little face.  You know who I’m talking about because we’ve all met them.  It’s the person who is so miserable that they want others to be miserable too.  If you’re reading this and thinking “I don’t know any of these people”, then wake up sweetie, because it’s probably you.  No one likes you.

Believe me, I get it.  You have to rise above it.  You have breathe, and meditate, and send energetic and unconditional love.  You have to be the change that you want to see in the world.  But I feel like it’s not enough sometimes.  I feel like you can’t just sit back and be  passive anymore.  You actually have to stand up and DEFEND positivity and actively shoot these negative idiots down!  That’s so messed up.

I’m not even talking about the rah-rah-sis-boom-bah/”hooray for everything” kind of intense optimism.  Happiness can be very realistic.  Yes there are hurricanes, yes there is disease, yes there are corrupt politicians, but there are 24 hours in a day, and 60 minutes in each hour, and you can’t find anything to smile about?  Go to hell.

Honestly, this doesn’t even feel good.  And it’s doing more damage to me than it is to them.  Maybe it’s totally counterproductive, and I don’t even care.  There are more mature ways to deal with this but I’ve tried it, and like that old woman from the movie Soul Food said, “My soul is tired”.  I’m just so fucking done.

I’m done with people who have to put others down just to make themselves feel better about their disgusting little lives.

I’m done with turning cheeks.

I’m done with people who mock others for being in happy relationships, because theirs spiralling down the shitter.

I’m done with people who can’t be happy for someone else’s success without question because their success has nothing to do with you.

I’m done with polite smiles and sweeping someone else’s baggage under the rug.

I’m done with people who attain a position of power and abuse it because, what?  They had no friends when they were kids?  Just spank your inner moppet and move the fuck on!

I’m done with bullies who have never actually grown up.

I’m done with people who give me shit for being a fitness instructor, when they can’t even run for the bus without coughing up blood into their lungs and then taking a bath in a tub of Bengay.

I’m done with people taking their insecurities out on everybody else and acting like it’s okay.

And I’m done with bitching and complaining about these people.

The next time someone gives me shit for trying to be a positive individual, I will just straight up tell them where they need to go:

Thanks to my girl Cindy J for the joke and the visual.

Thanks to my girl Cindy J for the joke and the visual.

Just crawl up in there.  Suffocate.  There’s lots of room for all.

 

 

 

About theboywiththecarebeartattoo

30 something. Love 90s music. Read leadership books. Read comic books. Love tai chi. Love chai tea. I just have a lot of thoughts and feelings.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

